Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

MSE’s Yi Yang Earns Research Excellence Recognition

UT’s Graduate Student Senate and Graduate School hosted their annual awards banquet on Monday, March 27, with outstanding graduate students, professional advisors, and mentors honored for their contributions to the thriving UT research and education activities.

The Graduate Research Excellence award honors three doctoral students, and one of these three is named Graduate Researcher of the Year. The MSE department is thrilled to share that PhD student Yi Yang is the recipient of this highest honor.

Above, Yang poses with her trophy and fellow awardees together with UT Vice Chancellor of Research Debra Crawford.

Yang works with Zhili Feng from ORNL and MSE Professor Yanfei Gao on stress relaxation cracking susceptibility for welded steel pipes in petrochemical and power industries.