Skip to content

Faculty Directory


Dr. Veerle M. Keppens
Department Head / Professor
Director-Joint Institute for Advanced Materials
Ph.D., Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium): Elastic Constants of Novel MaterialsLattice Dynamics, Tunneling States in Amorphous Materials

Joint Institute For Advanced Materials

Dr. Roberto S. Benson

Associate Department Head Professor

Ph.D., Florida State: Biopolymers, Polymer Degradation, Composites


Dr. Philip D. Rack
Associate Department Head
Professor / Leonard G. Penland Chair
Ph.D., Florida: Electronic and Optoelectronic Materials and Devices, Thin Film Processing and Characterization

ORNL Center for Nanophase Materials Science

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty

Dr. Hahn Choo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Illinois Institute of Technology: Physical/Mechanical Behavior of Structural Materials, Neutron Scattering

ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division


Dr. Gerd Duscher
Ph.D., Max-Planck Institute: : Acrylic and Carbon Fibers, Recycled Plastics, Nonwoven materials



Dr. Takeshi Egami
Professor, UT/ORNL Distinguished Scientist Ph.D., Pennsylvania: Materials Physics, Neutron and X-Ray Diffraction, Electronic Ceramics
ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division


Dr. Yanfei Gao
Ph.D., Princeton University: Small Scale Mechanical Behavior, Defects and Friction, Nanoscale Thin Film Heterostructures, Computational Materials Science

ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division

Dr. Bin Hu

Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences: Electronic and Optical Polymeric Materials and Devices



Dr. Ramki Kalyanaraman
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, Raleigh: Advanced materials for energy, thin films, nanomaterials, nanomanufacturing, sensing and electronics, self-organization, etc.


Dr. David J. Keffer
Ph.D., University of Minnesota: Multiscale materials modeling with applications in fuel cells, nanoporous materials, polymers, explosive sensors, etc.


Dr. Kevin M. Kit
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Delaware: Polymer Blends, Agricultural Materials



Dr. Peter K. Liaw
Professor / Racheff Chair of Excellence
Ph.D., Northwestern: Mechanical Behavior, Composite Materials, Life Prediction and Extension

Advanced Neutron Scattering Network For Education & Research

Dr. Carl D. Lundin
Ph.D., Rensselaer: Welding, Joining, Non-Equilibrium Metallurgy



Dr. David Mandrus

Professor & Jerry and Kay Henry Endowed Professor
Ph.D., Stony Brook University: Growth, discovery, and materials physics of new electronic and magnetic materials. Oxide electronics.

ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division

Dr. T. G. Nieh
Ph.D., Stanford: Superplasticity, Intermetallic Compounds, Bulk Metallic Glasses



Dr. Claudia J. Rawn
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Arizona: Ceramic Processing, X-Ray Diffraction, Neutron Scattering



Dr. Kurt E. Sickafus
Alvin and Sally Beaman Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University: Grain Boundary Structural Transformations Induced by Solute Segregation



Dr. William Weber
Governor’s Chair Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin: Radiation Effects, Ion-Beam Modification of Materials, Nuclear Materials, Defects Properties in Ceramics

ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division



Dr. Haixuan Xu 
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Florida: From Electronic Structure of Point Defects to Physical Properties of Complex Materials using Atomic-Level Simulations



Dr. Mariya Zhuravleva
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Tohoku University, Japan: BulkCrystal Growth From the Melt, Inorganic Scintillation Materials


Lecturer Faculty

meek-thumbDr. Thomas T. Meek
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D., The Ohio State University: Structure Determination of Vitreous Silica Using Energy Dispersive X-ray Analysis


Chris Wetteland

MS, Rutgers University: Ceramics & Materials Engineering

Governor’s School

Emeritus Faculty

Dr. Larry C. Wadsworth-Ph.D.

North Carolina State: Nonwoven Materials, Process-Structure-Property Studies in Melt Blowing and Spunbonding and Composites Technologies

Dr. Marion G. HansenPh.D.

Wisconsin-Madison: Engineering Mechanics

Dr. John F. Fellers-Ph.D.

The University of Akron: Polymers/Plastics

Joint Faculty

babu-thumbDr. Sudarsanam Suresh Babu
UT/ORNL Governor’s Chair of Advanced Manufacturing; Professor
Ph.D. (Materials Science), University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK


Dr. Jason Fowlkes
Associate Professor
Ph.D., The University of Tennessee:
Laser–Induced Nanostructures in Silicon


Dr. Easo George
Governor’s Chair Professor
Ph.D. (materials science and engineering), The University of Pennsylvania


joy-newDr. David C. Joy
Distinguished Professor
D.Phil., Oxford (UK): Electron Microscopy, Electron-Solid Interactions, Device Metrology

David Joy Retires

morris-newDr. James R. Morris
Associate Professor
Ph.D.: Cornell University: Theoretical modeling and computational simulations of materials at small length scales


simpsonnewDr. Michael L. Simpson
Ph.D., Tennessee: Electronic Materials, Nanostructured Materials, Nanofabrication, Biomaterials


Dr. Andrew Wereszczak
Ph.D.,University of Delaware: Mechanical Behavior, Science and Engineering of Ceramics, Glasses, and Brittle Materials

ORNL Materials Science & Technology Division

zhang-thumbDr. Yanwen Zhang
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Lund Institute of Technology (LTH), Sweden: Ions and electrons interaction with solids, Radiation effects and radiation detector physics, Ion beam analysis

Department of Energy Pulse

zinkle-thumbDr. Steven Zinkle
Governor’s Chair Professor 
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison:
Physical metallurgy of structural materials; the effects of ion and neutron irradiation on the microstructure, physical properties, and mechanical properties of metals and ceramics; transmission electron microscopy; and fusion and space fission reactor materials studies.

claudia_rawn_medDr. Claudia J. Rawn
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Arizona: Ceramic Processing, X-Ray Diffraction, Neutron Scattering

melcher-photo_medDr. Charles L. Melcher
Research Professor
Ph.D. Washington University, St. Louis.: Inorganic Scintillators and their Applications

Research Faculty

Dr. Mashid Ahmadi, Assistant Professor

Dr. Wojciech Dmoski, Associate Professor

Dr. Takuya Iwashita, Associate  Professor

Dr. Konstantin Lokshin, Associate Professor

Dr. Carl McHargue, Professor

Dr. Charles L. Melcher, Professor

Dr. John T. Simpson, Professor

Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Ke An, Associate Professor

Dr. Sudarsanam Suresh Babu, Professor

Dr. Hongbin Bei, Associate Professor

Dr. Gajanan S. Bhat, Professor

Dr. Michael P. Brady, Associate Professor

Dr. Jon P. Camden, Associate


Dr. Domenic A. Canonico, Professor

Dr. Peter Cohen, Associate Professor

Dr, Claus Daniel, Assistant Professor

Dr. Lars Aldon Erikson, Professor

Zhili Feng, Professor

Dr. Jason D. Fowlkes, Professor

Dr. Miguel A. Fuentes-Cabrera, Associate Professor

Dr. Amit Goyal, Professor

Dr. Zhang Gai, Associate Professor

Dr. Wei He, Professor

Dr. Gene Ice, Professor

Dr. Ilia N. Ivanov, Associate Professor

Dr. Pooran C. Joshi, Associate Professor


Dr. Sergei V. Kalinin, Associate Professor

Dr. Ho Nyung Lee, Associate Professor

Stephen Levy, Associate Professor

Dr. Jimmy W. Mays, Professor

Dr. Govidarajan Muralidharan, Associate Professor

Dr. Michael Ohl, Associate Professor

Dr. Warren C. Oliver, Professor

Dr. George M. Pharr, Professor

Dr. Jun Qu, Associate Professor

Dr. Timothy G. Rials, Professor

Dr. Orlando Rios, Associate Professor

Dr. Brian C. Sales, Professor

Dr. Michael L. Santella, Professor

Dr. Stephanie TerMaath, Associate Professor

Dr. Uday Vaidya, Professor

Dr. Hsin Wang, Professor

Dr. Xun-Li Wang, Professor

Dr. Thomas R. Watkins, Associate Professor

Dr. Steven J. Zinkle, Professor




The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.